Reflections on METC14 (Part 1)

Don’t you love that “just came back from an awesome conference” feeling? I do – and I wish I could find a way to bottle that enthusiasm and positive energy so I could tap into it months down the road.

Over the past few days, I had opportunity to participate in two fantastic PD events. I was fortunate to be able to spend my entire day Saturday at EdCampSTL and Tuesday and Wednesday at METC (Midwest Education Technology Conference). At each I was so excited to connect face to face with educators I follow on Twitter and with whom I’ve connected via tweets.

One such educator really helped push some of my thinking and challenged me to return to blogging. Josh Stumpenhorst (@stumpteacher) reminded us in a session that it is incredibly important to not only connect, but to share. I would consider myself a pretty avid Twitter user; however, I tend to be much more of a consumer of information rather than a creator or sharer.

To be honest – I typically do not feel that I have anything that is inspirational enough, smart enough, insightful enough, innovative enough or worthy enough to share. I sometimes even find myself second guessing or questioning what I am considering sending out in a tweet. And don’t get me started on the blog. I’ve had this thing up for a year now, and I rarely take the time to draft a post. I think about it plenty, but when it comes to committing to the words, I back out. No, I talk myself out. I convince myself that what I have to say is not worth reading and that others won’t care what I have to say. I dwell on the thought that what I am thinking and sharing has been thought about and shared by many others many times before.

I have to thank Josh for challenging those thoughts and feelings in the course of his presentation at METC. He reminded me that my ideas and thoughts are worth sharing with others. Just because they may seem not so incredible to me does not mean that others will not find value in them.

So, I’m going to commit myself to blogging and tweeting even when that voice inside tries to convince me that what I want to share is unworthy. Thank you, Josh, for the excellent reminder and for the challenge to press on.

About kskeeters

Grateful wife, adoring mother, dedicated educator, life-long learner. @keriskeeters
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections on METC14 (Part 1)

  1. Love seeing blog posts like this. It is a first step to a world living “out there” and sharing the awesome you do. Remember what is obvious to you will be new to someone or at the very least you will grow through the reflective process of writing in a public space.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Keri, You are pushing me to get started!

  3. Laurie Birkenmeier says:

    I could echo your thoughts, Keri. Great job in jumping (back) out there to share your story and for encouraging me to share my own.

  4. Kim Adkins says:

    Keri, I feel the same way much of the time. Your courage is inspirational. Like Stephanie above, I’m ready to start blogging, too. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

