Here We Go!

new-years-eve-419862_1280

I am not one for New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve never really made them – which is good because then I never experience the guilt of not keeping them!

The end of 2014 allowed for some (very unusual and uncharacteristic!) quiet time for me. I took the opportunity to reflect back on 2014, and I realized that there are areas in both my personal and professional life that could use some improvement. So I didn’t exactly make resolutions, but I set some goals for myself. To identify and discuss all of them in one post would be crazy – so I’m going to focus on one now.

My One Word

Last year I saw this One Word movement on Twitter, and I was intrigued! I decided that I would jump on board. I will admit that it was hard for me to keep this going all year; however, that did not stop me from trying it again this year.

Throughout the last month or more, I have spent time (admittedly not enough) in prayer asking God for direction. “What do you want from me?” “What do you want for me?” “How do you want me to be living my life to serve you?” It took me a while to hear anything (and I know I better not be finished listening). But eventually I did. I heard WILLINGLY.  Jesus willingly became human. Jesus willingly left home to spread the news about His Father and the salvation of heaven. Jesus willingly died on the cross.

What do I do willingly? 2889870505_9aebec83bb_m

So that is my One Word this year: Willingly. How can I do more in a willingly way – not begrudgingly. This is so simple – willingly do the laundry for my family, willingly prepare a meal even though I’m tired from a long day, willingly communicate information again that I have communicated several times in several ways, willingly listen to a teacher, a principal or my daughter when they need to talk despite my need get things done.

So far, I’m not doing so great (yikes, and we’re only 10 days into the new year!). I have good days and bad days. I keep this word posted where I can see it (I need to tattoo it to the back of my eyelids!) to help remind me. I am confident, though, that this One Word will make a difference in my life. I believe that if I can do more – willingly – then it will make me happier, as well as those around me.

Here’s to a fabulous 2015!

About kskeeters

Grateful wife, adoring mother, dedicated educator, life-long learner. @keriskeeters
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

