Second attempt

I’m back at it. It’s been almost a week since I started this blog and I haven’t been back again to write until now. It feels funny writing in this blank space, knowing that if someone would happen upon it they could read it and criticize – most certainly wondering why in the heck I would bother to have a blog in the first place.

I’m struggling to get into the writing habit. I want so much to model regular writing for my teachers, but it is difficult for me to get started. At the same time, I know that regular reflection is critical in education. I would really like for this blog to be a sort of marriage of those two ideas – reflection and writing routinely. We’ll see how that goes.

Today is one of those days where by the end I felt almost deflated. I have no good or valid reason for this – except that when I look into the remaining months of the school year I am instantly overwhelmed by what needs to be accomplished. My calendar has very little white space left on it, and I know that there will be even more to fill it. I don’t feel like I’m encouraging or inspiring today. I need a pick-me-up. So, I thought I’d try this blog again.

Too many irons in the fire is likely what the issue is. So many things demanding my time as an educator, wife and mother that right now I’m trying to find that perfect balance. Often I feel like I have pretty good balance; today isn’t one of those times.

So I reflect on the good of the day: Today I had the privilege of participating in a Google Hangout with two of my high school English teachers (each from separate schools) and my Technology Coach to talk about a Challenge Based Learning project that they are doing in their classrooms. These teachers have accepted the challenge from the Technology Coach and myself to bring CBL into their English Literature classrooms and see how it goes. They are excited and dedicate to the authentic learning experiences that this will provide for their students. The four of us are learning alongside one another, and I’m looking forward to this experience, as I know I it will be a great learning opportunity for me (as well as the students and their teachers).

I can feel good about the fact that these teachers are inspired and inspiring due to their willingness to listen to an idea brought to them by the Technology Coach and myself. We’re going to see this thing through to the end and I know it will be a terrific learning experience.

About kskeeters

Grateful wife, adoring mother, dedicated educator, life-long learner. @keriskeeters
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Second attempt

  1. debbiefuco says:

    Bravo, Keri! Taking the plunge and putting yourself, your reflections, and your writing out there for all to see is a scary thing, but you did it! I appreciate your taking on the challenge because as a newbie blogger myself, I also find it hard to share my thoughts so openly. I like what you said,

    “The four of us are learning alongside one another, and I’m looking forward to this experience, as I know I it will be a great learning opportunity for me (as well as the students and their teachers).”

    What a great collaborative spirit you have!

    Debbie

Leave a comment